Top Books Worth Reading

News About Independent Top Authors on Amazon Kindle

Top Books Worth Reading - News About Independent Top Authors on Amazon Kindle

The Dream Walker: Land of Mystica Series

When there are castles, servants, and kings, there is a little curious boy named Mortimer. The book launches into his story to pull the reader in through his eyes. He is the son of a servant. His mother is well liked and personable. When questions arise about the identity of his father, his mother never answers. No one knows who his father is.

Mortimer explores around the castle and finds small interesting tokens to collect such as interesting buttons, ribbons and other tiny objects. He keeps a small collection under his bed covered with mud and straw. After awhile he grows tired of finding similar items. He decides to carefully explore outside the castle.  He is aware he needs to be watchful of bad people that could prey upon the weak.  He decides to stop at the border where there is a small stream. He decides to take a swim where he observes a glistening black rock that he retrieves from the water.

Mortimer recalls a tale of the three white wizards and the dark wizards who battled over controlling power. The lead dark wizard casts a spell that goes awry where the wizards become trapped into their respective white and black rocks. Because the power of the land of Mystica is tied to their existence, a darkness emerges and people are not only at war with each other but also with wizards, elves and dwarfs.

Mortimer pondered this wondering if the rock he found could be tied to this story. He was doubtful. All he knew is that he wanted to keep the rock for his very own.

A girl named Miranda is having dreams. She feels the need to travel to Mystica to act upon them. She becomes a part of the battle siding with light to defeat darkness.

Read how the stories merge into a robust and eventful story. Author Michelle Murray developed this story around creating a land of dreams with well developed characters and magic.

This book is written in a fashion to appeal to readers young and old to enjoy.

Read the ample preview on Amazon and automatically get pulled into the story.

Source: Jo Farrell Examiner News Reuters News Network

The Ocean at the End of the Lane: A Novel by Neil Gaiman

Pin it to remember it!,TopRight,1,0_SH20_.jpg

When I see that Neil Gaiman is listed as the author of a new (to me) book, I always smile.  I smile because I know I can get situated to read well into the night, totally engaged and completely entertained.

“The Ocean at the End of the Lane” did not disappoint.  What was supposed to be just a short story, took on a life of it’s own and became a full fledged novel.   This non-stop action book is the first adult novel by Neil Gaiman, since “The Anansi Boys” that came out in 2005.  I remember reading “The Anansi Boys” with extreme pleasure.  Laughing one minute and crying the next as their story unfolds.

The story is told by a seven year old boy so is able to bring the innocence and wonder of a child.  Forty years later, when he comes back to the town for a funeral, he revisits the farm, where a pond was the ocean and reality was suspended.  The anonymous narrator remembers the dark magic and the promise that a little girl named Lettie made.  She promised to keep him safe during all the fearful events that were precipitated by a suicide.  The suicide that opened the darkness that had been hidden until then.

This tale shows us how friendship and trust are often the greatest lessons a little boy can learn.  Even though the middle aged man revisits the site of all the mayhem, he hasn’t thought of those events in years.  But it all returns to him on his visit and as we, the reader, know that though forgotten, those events helped to shape the man he is now.

Want to take a walk on the wild imaginative side of Neil Gaiman?  You can get this book on Amazon.  You will find it here –